Fluffiest chocolate cake

Finally off from school, but the burnout from juggling work and school is quite unreal. I am even more eager for Christmas now.

I have never been a fan of chocolate related things, when I tell people I don’t like the taste of chocolate and chocolatey things, they hardly ever believe me. But it is true, chocolate has a weird taste for me and I try to avoid it as much as I possibly can. Majority of my clients on the other hand, seem to love my different variations of chocolate cakes, so I decided to try and venture into a new chocolate recipe with hopes that my perception on chocolate cakes at least will change.

img_8880

Trust me, it did. My non chocolate habits are definitely my dad genes as he does not eat chocolate. My entire life, I have never seen my dad eat even one chocolate biscuit. He simply does not consume anything chocolate. He actually says that people should not eat black food (he considers the dark colour of chocolate stuff black). I did the cake and left for the movies as it was a public holiday here in Kenya on Monday, and I had only left my mum and dad home. Coming back about 4hrs later, they had eaten over half the cake. My mum said my dad just couldn’t help himself, he was really enjoying the cake. So I decided to have a slice for myself, and we did not see the need of having supper that evening due to the gloriousness of this wonderful cake.

img_8881

The Pradip Cocoa Powder gave the cake this wonderful aroma while baking that it still lingers in my baking corner. The Pradip corn flour took the cake to a whole new territory.

This is a must have on Christmas day. Make it for your extended family and watch them as they enjoy the sweetness that will come from this cake.

img_8884

Ingredients

  • 250g Margarine
  • 3/4 cups granulated white sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 & 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup Pradip Corn Flour
  • 1/2 cup  Pradip Cocoa Powder
  • 1 & 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate soda
  • 2 tablespoons Vinegar
  • 1 cup milk

For the icing

  • 200 g margarine
  • 1 & 1/2 cups icing sugar
  • 1/2 cup pradip cocoa powder
  • 3 tablespoons milk
  • 1 teaspoon Pradip orange essence

Method

Pre-heat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Grease and dust your baking tin(s).

In one bowl, sift together the cocoa, bicarbonate, baking powder, corn flour and the all purpose flour. (refer to this for the importance of sifting them together). It is really important to sift the cocoa because it has loads of lumps in it and they harden in the oven.

In a jug add mix the vinegar and the milk and set aside to form buttermilk.

In a second bowl, soften your butter or margarine with your mixer or spatula. Add the sugars and mix until well incorporated.

Add your eggs one at a time to the butter mixture, until incorporated.

Slowly add your flour mix and buttermilk into the butter and eggs mix. This should be done alternating so as to incorporate air into the batter and make your cake lighter as opposed to dense. Starting and ending with flour.

img_8878

Once everything is well incorporated, pour the batter into your prepared baking tin(s) and bake for 50 minutes (if baking in two tins, bake for 28-35 minutes).

img_8893
really love the consistency of the cocoa as you can hardly see the cream in the cake layers

To make the cream

Soften the margarine in a bowl. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix until everything is well incorporated.

img_8891

Decorate the cake as desired.

img_8888

Serve and enjoy!

img_8889

3 thoughts on “Fluffiest chocolate cake

Leave a Reply

