Fluffy American Pancakes

In all honesty, the idea of fluffy pancakes never had me excited. I like thin pancakes so I can gobble up tonnes and tonnes of them without the slightest of guilt coming over me.

My cousin insisted that I should try them out and after a few classes at the University of Google,I had the concept and thought I should try them out.


Woke up today feeling extremely relaxed and since my dad was leaving early for work, decided to try them out and see how it goes.

We are all in love with them. They turned out so light, so fluffy (explains the name) and good God so yum!!!!!!!! My brother actually stood there patiently waiting for me to finish taking photos while my dad just couldn’t wait to eat them. They are so filling as well so it makes sense to make them regularly.

Best part of it all was that they cook so fast, and my mother and I definitely see ourselves making them quite often. 😋😋

Ingredients 

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 teaspoon Pradip orange oil
  • 2 tablespoons margarine
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup corn flour
  • 1 & 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 4 tablespoons sugar

Method

Preparation

Sift the corn flour, baking powder and the all purpose flour together, set aside. Add the sugar and margarine and mix well. 

In a second bowl, whisk together the milk, orange oil and the eggs until well combined.

Add the egg and milk mixture to the dry ingredients and mix properly. I use my hand mixer with the whisk attachments and mix until there’s no lumps left. Let the pancake batter for a while. It should start to bubble up a bit. 


Heat your pan and put about a tablespoon of oil, swirling the pan to grease it all over.

Pour about quarter a cup of the batter onto the pan and spread it a little to make an even circle. Let it heat up for about 1 or 2 minutes before flipping it. Once you flip it, let it cook for about a minute and remove from the pan. Poke the pancake a bit to make sure it cooked through. 

Enjoy the pancakes warm.


Or if it’s as hot as it is here in Nairobi, with some ice cream. 


 

Leave a Reply

