Sunshine & Rainbows.

Happy New Year my Lovelies.I know plenty of people have been complaining about how terrible 2016 was. It had plenty of its low moments and enough gut punches. I have considered quitting teaching and baking all together in the year 2016, due to challenge after challenge that was put ahead of me. Luckily, I overcame them.

Personally I learnt a lot from the year and I am more than grateful to have lived through it and all the cards that were dealt. Besides, after every storm there is a rainbow.

Therefore, I am more than hopeful that 2017 will be a great year. I am not one to make resolutions as I don’t like making promises that I can’t keep. I hate disappointments and thus I take every with day it’s own stride and try to succeed as greatly as I can in everything I set to do. Hopefully, I will be able to put up more videos and do tutorials as I’m asked on my instagram.

I made this vanilla rainbow cake for my grandparents as they are always asking why I no longer bake for them. They loved it. Possibly too much. It genuinely reminded me why it is I do what I do. The satisfaction of making others happy is the greatest joy you can experience. I hope to make your 2017 as wonderful as well.

Ingredients

  • Vanilla Cake batter
  • food colours (red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple)
  • whipped cream for decorating

Method

Follow the procedure on how to make the vanilla cake, and before putting the mix in the oven, divide it into six separate batches.

img_9052

Add a drop or two of red food colour to one bowl and mix thoroughly, until there are no streaks. The streaks imply the colour isn’t properly mixed and turns the batter bitter.

img_9053

Do this for every colour.

img_9056

Once every colour is well mixed, put a spoon full of each colour in your baking tin in an alternating and random manner. Repeat until all your batter is in the baking tin.

img_9057img_9058

Bake the cake for 40-50 minutes or until knife test comes out clean.

img_9059

Let the cake cool before decorating.

img_9061

I decorated it in two ways, giving one  to my grandparents and the other to my cousins. It was a lovely treat.

img_9062
For Kylah and Sheilah

Happy New Year my Lovelies.

img_9064

2 thoughts on “Sunshine & Rainbows.

Leave a Reply

