Coffee & Vanilla Doughnuts – Vegan

My sister and her husband recently went to Zanzibar – (I am extremely envious of them) – and they were more than kind enough to bring me goodies from the spice market. Zanzibar, (and almost every other island on this earth), has always been a dream location and mainly because I just want to go to the spice market. (Dear reader, Please feel free to take me there).

When she gave me this packet of Vanilla Coffee, my first instinct was to hide it so that it can never end and I can keep it as a souvenir for the rest of eternity. It wasn’t how I will implement it in anything. I just wanted to keep it and nurture it and show everyone that my sister was at the spice market in Zanzibar.

img_9090

Today though, I woke up with a craving for doughnuts and coffee but since I had a very early morning meeting, I couldn’t have them. Came back home with zero motivation to do anything but when the cravings got a bit surreal, I decided to head to the kitchen and talked myself into making coffee and vanilla doughnuts.

IMG_9095.jpg

So now I can say my sister brought me this flavoured coffee packet from Zanzibar that I used to make these delicious vegan doughnuts with and now I feel like I have tasted a bit of Zanzibar.

Ingredients

  • 4 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 cups Pradip corn flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar – can add or reduce to your liking
  • 20g instant yeast
  • 1 teaspoon Zanzibar Vanilla Coffee
  • 2 cups (500ml) Soya Milk
  • 4 tablespoons vegetable oil

Substitute

The Zanzibar Vanilla Coffee can be substituted by

  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee
  • 1 teaspoon Pradip Vanilla

Method

Heat the Soya milk in the microwave for about 2 minutes. Set aside to start cooling. Add the vegetable oil.

In a bowl, sift together the corn flour and the all purpose flour.

Measure out about 2/3 of the mix into a different bowl. Add the sugar, coffee and yeast and stir. Add the Soya milk and oil mixture to this and mix with a wooden spoon, adding the remaining flour little by little until it becomes heavy.

When the mixture becomes to heavy to mix with the wooden spoon, dust your counter top with a bit of the flour mixture and knead the dough until it no longer sticks to your hands or the counter top. If it’s still sticky, dust with more flour until it’s no longer sticky.

When the dough is ready, put it in a bowl and cover with cling film, then leave it in a warm place to rise. Luckily, it is the hot season here in Nairobi, so you won’t need to proof your dough for too long. Twenty to thirty minutes should be enough if your kitchen is warm enough.

Once the dough has risen, take it out of the bowl and knead it a bit more. Roll it into desired thickness, before cutting into doughnut shape. Deep fry the doughnuts.

You can check my instagram for a timelapse of the whole process.

IMG_9091.jpg

You can garnish the doughnuts with a bit of caster/ granulated sugar to give them a bit of an extra sweet taste.

IMG_9093.jpg

Enjoy the doughnuts.

img_9099

 

4 thoughts on “Coffee & Vanilla Doughnuts – Vegan

Leave a Reply

