Muesli Muffins

Doesn’t the title of this post just roll of your tongue. Makes me hungry just thinking about them. I have genuinely been wanting to try gluten-free products for the longest time now but I’ve been quite frantic about attempting something I didn’t quite understand.

img_9197

My parents stopped taking processed sugar a long while back (except for the occasional soda) and I followed suit about a year or two ago. Although they do eat the cakes I bake for the house, They still say it’s a little bit sweet even when I reduce the sugar to almost half or quarter of the recommended quantity. So with that in mind, I decided to try to cut out the sugar entirely from the muffins, and try using honey. The honey I used is quite pure as it was harvested by my sister’s mother in law. She has bees on her farm and she gets her own honey and she brought it for us all the way from Meru. I must say, it is much too yummy.

img_9195

ย Since we are a family of snackers (<– is this a real word) and nibblers, I decided to give this a whirl and see where it goes. I was working with the belief that if it doesn’t work out, there’s always the dustbin, and if it does then we have found a new item to keep us busy with all the good stuff in it. It did. and I am super excited that it did.

img_9200

If you’ve been following my blog lately, you’ll notice that I have been using the Pradip corn flour a tad bit too much. It is the bomb.com. And who wouldn’t want muesli muffins that are also gluten-free? The corn Flour made them just perfectly light, and despite the fact that muesli tends to be a bit filling, the corn flour cuts this out and makes it just the right amount of filling. My mum had four muffins in one sitting.

img_9186

Hope you also try these out and tell me how it goes.

img_9188

Ingredients

  • 3 cups Pradip Corn Flour
  • 2 & 1/2 cups Muesli
  • 2 teaspoons Pradip baking powder
  • 1/4 cup natural honey
  • 1 cup (250ml) natural yoghurt
  • 2/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 2/3 cup Pradip Mixed peel
  • 1 teaspoon Pradip Vanilla Essence
  • 2 Eggs

Method

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees celsius.

In one bowl, add all your dry ingredients, i.e corn flour, muesli, baking powder, and the mixed peel. Stir with a whisk so that everything is well combined.

img_9156
I used tropical muesli

In a jug, add the wet ingredients, i.e the honey, yoghurt, vegetable oil, vanilla essence, and the eggs. Whisk thoroughly, so that everything is well mixed in.

img_9158
The Pradip mixed peel gives the muesli quite the lovely flavour

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir with your whisk until everything is well mixed.

Line your muffin tray with preferred liners and pour the batter about 3/4 of the way full. Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until an inserted skewer comes out clean.

img_9166img_9167

Let them cool for about 10 minutes then serve.

img_9204

Enjoy.

img_9199

One thought on “Muesli Muffins

Leave a Reply

