Dad Cookies

This is genuinely the most appropriate name for oatmeal cookies. They have no sugar and no gluten, aka dad friendly.

img_9375

I had a packet of oatmeal that I had bought a while back and I don’t even remember what my aim was with them. I just shelved them and only noticed them last week as we were cleaning the cabinets.

The first thing that came to mind was try making bread with it, or cupcakes, or a cake but with my sudden increase in laziness, I obviously didn’t get to do it and when my dad asked if I could make him breakfast snacks, the only thing i could think of was the oatmeal.

img_9369

So with the oatmeal and my laziness, I decided to try out oatmeal cookies. It was the first time in this territory so there was a high chance I would end up disliking them or they would really backfire or they would turn out great. The verdict would be dealt by my parents who are always first more than willing to text them out.

They lasted a day, and my mum asked me to be making them often. Hopefully someone will sprinkle some motivation in my life.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup Tropical Muesli
  • 2 cups Ground Oats
  • 1 & 1/2 Cups Pradip Corn Flour
  • 2 teaspoons Pradip Baking Powder
  • 1 Teaspoon Pradip Lemon Flavour
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/4 Cup honey
  • 6 Tablespoons Margarine
  • 2 tablespoons Milk

Method

Pre-heat your oven at 180 Degrees Celcius.

Line your cookie sheet with grease proof/parchment paper.

In one bowl, whisk together the egg, lemon flavour, honey and the milk.

In a second bowl, add the oats, muesli, corn flour, and baking powder. Give this a bit of a stir, then add the butter and rub in.

Add the wet ingredients and mix until doughy.

Scoop about a tablespoon of the cookie dough and shape it into a nice ball, place it on the prepared cookie sheet. Do this with the rest of the dough placing balls about an inch or two apart. Bake in the oven for 12-15 minutes.

img_9366

The edges should be nice and firm, but the center should be soft and tender to touch. This will make the cookies more chewy whenย cool. Let the cool in the baking sheet for 10 minutes before transferring them to the serving plate or cookie jar.

img_9371

Serve with a glass of milk.

img_9373

Enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “Dad Cookies

Leave a Reply

