Pineapple Upside Down Cake

I have been an extremely busy bee lately. My schedule is quite overflowing and I’m more than excited while at the same time wondering if I could possibly develop the ability to stop time so I could work as slowly as I need to, so as to maintain my sanity 😊.

IMG_9559.jpg

Last week I had the chance to go down to the Pradip Factory to have a look at their products and I was more than happy when they told me to go try their new Pineapple Flavour as it has a rich and more fruitful taste.

IMG_9576.jpg

Immediately it was handed to me, I wanted to head to the kitchen and make a pineapple upside down cake. For some reason, my vision for how I wanted it wasn’t coming to life. I wanted to buy canned pineapples cause they have syrup that is ever so yum, but luck would have it that I couldn’t get them in six different supermarkets. I considered postponing the cake until I could get the pineapples but knowing that I can procrastinate till kingdom comes, I just knew I had to use what was available at the time.

img_9581

So I got a whole pineapple and cut it into little pieces, and after the cake was ready, it looked so good. Much better than I had expected it would be. And the smell in our house is so good, that I can guarantee the Neighbour’s just wanted to move in. It is amazing. I wholly recommend you try the pineapple flavour from Pradip. No regrets. It’s the legitimate perfect choice.

img_9566

Ingredients

For the pineapple layer

  • 300-400 g Pineapple (cut into desired size)
  • 100 g butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar

For the cake

  • 200g butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour – sifted
  • 1 & 1/2 teaspoons Pradip Baking Powder
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon Pradip Pineapple essence

Method

Pre-heat your oven at 180 degrees Celcius.

Very lightly, grease the sides of a 10 inch baking tin, set aside

In a saucepan, melt the butter, then add the sugar. It should start bubbling and caramelising in a bit. Add the pineapples and remove from heat. Stir to coat the pineapples with the caramel, then pour into your prepared tin.

IMG_9556.jpg

Try and ensure the pineapples are levelled.

IMG_9558.jpg

In a bowl, beat the margarine and the sugar until light and fluffy.

Add the eggs, then the pineapple essence until well combined.

Add the baking powder, flour and milk, and mix until everything is well combined. The mixture will be a bit runny.

Pour onto the pineapples and bake for 40 minutes, or until cake test shows it’s ready. The batter will displace some of the oil from the pineapple caramel and it will be hard to spread the batter but it will spread while in the oven.

When the cake is done, let it cool in the baking tin for 10-15 minutes and then invert it on a serving plate. Don’t remove the baking tin yet. Let the caramel drip onto the cake before removing the tin. Remove the tin after 5-10 minutes. I used a chopping board as none of our serving plates would fit.

img_9571

When the cake has cooled to your liking, serve and enjoy.

img_9583

4 thoughts on “Pineapple Upside Down Cake

Leave a Reply

