Chocolate Orange Cake

This past week has been one of my most taxing weeks this year. I’ve had to juggle teaching, Valentines orders, school and I still had a tonne of work to do during the weekend. It’s a miracle I haven’t yanked my hair out, though I had threatened to do so a few times over during the week. I am suffering from exhaustion, but at the same time driven to work even harder and grow myself and my business.

My workload is getting higher and I couldn’t be happier. I have three weddings in four weeks and I am going to be running a week-long workshop in a week. So basically I am trying to be the superwoman I believe I sometimes am and if you catch me on the streets mumbling to myself (I actually do this) and with eyebags, please offer me a cup of caffeine. Thank you!

img_9745

Someone had requested for a chocolate orange cake recipe and despite having done the cake earlier in the week, I completely forgot to share it. It’s a completely easy recipe that requires little time to prepare and you are guaranteed to love it. I came home last night hoping to have a slice with a cup of coffee only to find my parents had finished all of it, (story of my life).

When I was making this cake, I wanted to get imported oranges as that is what I have always used. The zest is much sweeter and the fruit much juicier (is juicier a word?). But for some reason, this fruit could not be spotted. I tried three supermarkets to no avail. Even our local grocers who once in a while have imported oranges said they hadn’t received them. So I just went to a mama mboga and got regular oranges and decided to get the orange flavour from Pradip Orange oil. once you use Pradip orange oil, you will never turn back. It’s seriously tooooo gooood.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup granulated white sugar
  • 1 & 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup Pradip Corn Flour
  • 1/2 cup Pradip Cocoa Powder
  • 1 & 1/2 teaspoon Pradip baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 180g margarine – melted
  • 1 teaspoon Pradip orange oil.

Method

Preheat your oven at 180 degrees Celsius. Grease and dust your desired baking tin. I used a bundt tin as mine had been gathering dust for a while now.

Mix the oil and the margarine. Whisk until combined.

In a bowl, sift together the all-purpose flour, pradip corn flour, pradip cocoa powder, pradip baking powder and the bicarbonate. Add the sugar and set aside.

In a jug, mix together the buttermilk, orange juice, pradip orange oil, and the eggs. Whisk together until well combined.

Add the margarine mix and the buttermilk and eggs mix to the flour and sugar, and whisk until everything is well incorporated and there are no lumps. Pour into your prepared tin and bake for 50 minutes.

img_9731img_9748

Let the cake cool for at least 30 minutes before removing it from the baking tin. Allow it to cool completely before serving. Enjoy.

img_9757

Leave a Reply

