Vanilla Biscuits. 

I’ve been trying my best to find time to write about these biscuits (or cookies), but I’m overwhelmingly busy and I’m longing for a long Monday. I am truly madly deeply missing how I could confortably sleep for eight straight hours and wake up to do nothing but Netflix and refresh instagram. 


The workshop begins on Monday and I am beyond ready for it!! However, my lecturer has decided we shall have a sit in CAT next week and with my kind of schedule, I’ll need a miracle to do that accounting paper. But all in all I’m ready for everything being served on to my plate. 

My good friend (and extremely loyal client) Wanja was looking for something simple to gift her boyfriend for Valentine’s Day (yes, this post is that overdue 🙈), and she requested me to make some engraved cookies/biscuits. I was beyond elated and then I realized my cookie recipe wouldn’t allow for Fondant as they get a little dome when ready. 

So I had to be resourceful and the closet thing I had previously made that was biscuit like was  tarts. My first attempt with the tart recipe I have was not successful in any way as the biscuits felt a bit too oily. The second attempt was much more successful and I’ve had to make them for my parents at least 3 times since Valentine’s. Wanja was more than happy to have them. 

Ingredients 

  • 3/4 cup margarine – about 187g
  • 3/4 cup granulated white sugar – didn’t have caster sugar and this worked out great
  • 1 egg
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon Pradip Vanilla Essence

Method

In a bowl, cream the margarine and the granulated sugar until light. You can use a mixer or just a wooden spoon. 

Add the flour, vanilla, egg and the egg yolk. Mix until well combined and becomes doughy. 

Dust your counter top and knead the biscuit dough just to form a ball. Wrap the dough in cling film and refrigerate for about 30 minutes. Do not be like me and forget it. 😂

When the half hour has elapsed, preheat your oven to 180 degrees celcius. Take your cookie tray and line it with grease proof paper. 

Dust your counter top lightly and take the dough from the cling film and gently roll it to desired thickness. Using a cookie cutter, cut into desired size and gently place on the baking tray. 

Bake the biscuits for 12-15 minutes then remove from the oven. Let them cool for at least 5 minutes before transferring them. 


Enjoy. 

5 thoughts on “Vanilla Biscuits. 

Leave a Reply

