Banana Bread

To be extremely honest, I am quite an avid bread eater. I like bread in each and every way (except when it’s “toasted” into a block of wood!), I can have bread for breakfast lunch and dinner. and still be in love with it.

IMG_0173

The first time I heard of Banana Bread, my first thought was YUCK!! I don’t like bananas. I eat them maybe once every few weeks or months. I find bananas bland. And the fact that they can get spoilt in the blink of an eye just makes me disinterested in them as soon as I see them.

IMG_0172

My mum has a farm and a few days back, she brought home plenty of bananas that she hadn’t sold at the market. Since I don’t want to eat them and because I hate being lectured (especially about not eating bananas), I had to find a way to kinda get rid of them. And what other way can a baker find to get rid of bananas than to make banana bread.

IMG_0170

Its pretty simple to make and it is an excellent breakfast treat. My mum and dad LOVED it and have now promised to bring more bananas home to make banana bread. we may not be buying bread for a while if I’m correct.

IMG_0142

Ingredients

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup Vegetable oil
  • 1 & 1/2 Cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon bicarbonate
  • 1 tablespoon Vinegar

Method

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celcius

Grease and dust a 400g loaf pan

IMG_0143

Mash your bananas with a fork or a potato masher.

IMG_0144

 

Add the sugar and stir.

 

Add the vegetable oil

Add the eggs

Add the vinegar

Stir the bicarbonate into the flour, then add it to the rest of the mix. Stir until everything is well combined and pour into your prepared bread pan. Bake for 30 – 40 minutes, or until knife test shows it’s ready.

Enjoy.

IMG_0171

 

Leave a Reply

