Rum & Raisin Cookies

As a kid, I wasn’t much of a chocolate lover. I had a soft spot for mint choc and that was as far as i would request for chocolate. Until one day my mum bought for us Old Jamaica chocolate bars. It was the beginning of a wonderful journey. I remember biting into the chocolate and it was filled with overly succulent raisins and the smell it had was just wonderful. I was a naive girl to know it was rum until my friend pointed it out.

IMG_0254

For over a week I have just been considering having the chocolate bar but I don’t even check the candy section to know if the chocolate still exists (it been over 8 years since I last had it), and I wasn’t about to go round Nairobi in search of chocolate.

IMG_0252

So I had a crazy idea to make rum and raisin cookies and that was the beginning of the most wonderful idea. When I posted the idea on my instagram, I had a few requests for the recipe and it took an extra three days to will myself to make them.

IMG_0261

First things first, soak your raisins, sultanas, mixed peel etc, in rum for at least three hours. This allows the raisins to sort of bloom and absorb the rum making them moist. I always have presoaked fruits in my cabinet for  rainy day (like this one). From there the cookie making is simple, the cookies are moist and deliciously chewy you could hide them so as to avoid sharing (I almost did).

IMG_0267

Ingredients

  1. 250 grams margarine
  2. 75 grams granulated sugar
  3. 25o grams all-purpose flour
  4. 1 and 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  5. 1 tablespoon dark rum
  6. 250g presoaked raisins, sultanas and mixed peel.

Method

Pre-heat your oven at 180 degrees Celsius

Grease a baking sheet and place grease proof/parchment paper on it.

In a bowl, soften the margarine and add the sugar to it, until pale and fluffy.

IMG_0238

When the margarine and sugar are well mixed, add the flour, baking powder, rum  and the soaked raisins and mix until everything is well combined.

IMG_0242

IMG_0249

Scoop a tablespoon or less or more and roll it into a ball using the palms of your hand, place on the baking sheet. Do this with all the cookie dough. Should give 12-30 cookies depending on the preferred size.

IMG_0251

Bake for 15-20 minutes. The edges of the cookies should be firm and the center soft to touch, while removing.

IMG_0259

Set aside to cool as they firm up.

IMG_0265

You can dip some in melted chocolate for an even better rum and raisin experience.

IMG_0273

Enjoy!

IMG_0275

3 thoughts on “Rum & Raisin Cookies

Leave a Reply

