Mint Chocolate Chip Cake

It’s been a long few weeks with work and school and lack of sleep. Some days I’m so demotivated to work on recipes for the blog and some days I do work on them but lack the zeal to post them (like today as there is currently no wifi. In our house. Why is life like this?!)

A baker friend really wanted me to share a chocolate chip cake recipe as hers are almost always unfortunately sinking to the bottom when she bakes. I’ll share a few tips on what I do with my chips so they don’t sink.

Tips

1. I use the mini chocolate chips. When buying them here in Kenya, ask for chocolate drops. They incorporate better into the batter, hardly melt, and don’t sink to the bottom during baking.

2. I add my chocolate chips immediately after the eggs and lightly mix them in before adding my flour. I find that this works best for me because, the chips will now be well incorporated into the flour and mix into the batter well.

3. I bake immediately. Once my chocolate chip cake mix is ready, I put it in the oven immediately, as I do not want the chips to start settling down.

Hopefully you’ll all try it this way and let me know how it goes. 😊

Ingredients – makes a 1.5kg cake (I used 3- 6 inch pans to make this cake – I wanted a tall cake. You can easily use a 9 inch pan or a 10inch pan)

  • 375 g butter
  • 1 & 1/2 cups granulated white sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 & 1/2 teaspoons tinted Pradip Peppermint (the tinted mint is less stronger than the clear) of using the clear mint, use 3/4 teaspoons
  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup Pradip Corn flour
  • 2 & 1/4 teaspoons Pradip baking powder
  • 150g chocolate chips
  • 1 Cup milk


Method

Pre-heat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius.

Grease and dust your baking tin(s).

In one bowl, sift together the baking powder and flours.


In a second bowl, soften your butter with your mixer or spatula. Add the sugar and mix until well incorporated. The butter and sugar mix should be pale in colour, light and fluffy.


Add your eggs one at a time to the butter mixture, until incorporated.

Add the peppermint and the chocolate chips, mix until the chips are well incorporated.


Slowly add your flour mix and milk into the butter and eggs mix. This should be done alternating so as to incorporate air into the batter and make your cake lighter as opposed to dense. Starting and ending with flour.

Once everything is well incorporated, pour the batter into your prepared baking tins and bake for 40 minutes (if using a 9/10 inch pan, bake for 40-50 minutes).


When the cake is ready, remove from the oven and let it cool completely before decorating. 

Leave a comment